Harm Prevention

Hospital Acquired Conditions Overview

Hospital Acquired Conditions (HACs) are conditions that are defined by section 5001(c) of the Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 that:

  • Are high cost, high volume or both,
  • Result in the assignment of a case to a DRG that has a higher payment when present as a secondary diagnosis, and
  • Could reasonably have been prevented through the application of evidence‑based guidelines.
These common medical errors add up to more than $4.5 billion in additional spending each year.

HAC Scores

HAC scores are based on six quality measures that fall into two domains.
Domain 1: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Patient Safety Indicator (PSI) measure 90 Composite
Domain 2: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) Healthcare-Associated Infection (HAI) measures including:
  • Central Line-Associated Bloodstream Infection (CLABSI)
  • Catheter-Associated Urinary Tract Infection (CAUTI)
  • Surgical Site Infection (SSI) (colon and hysterectomy)
  • Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) bacteremia
  • Clostridium difficile Infection (CDI)
Jvion's Thinking Machine

We created a machine that thinks like a clinician. Here is how we did it.

Immerse Yourself in the Jvion Machine

Take just 2.5 minutes to dive into the world of prescriptive analytics for preventable harm.

The Jvion Machine in Action

See firsthand how the Jvion machine can help your patients and your organization.